About Us

Unveiling the essence of our mission, vision, and commitment in shaping the future of metallurgy.

Unveiling the essence of our mission, vision, and commitment in shaping the future of metallurgy.

Our Story

The Indian Institute of Metals was formed in 1945 to provide a professional body for metallurgists in India. The Institute has since grown to over 10,000 members and is recognized as one of the premier metallurgical organizations in the world, with activities including organizing conferences, conducting research, and publishing materials related to metallurgy and allied technologies. The organization was established to undertake key activities in the space of metallurgy in India.

Our Vision

Build a community of scientists, engineers and technologists that will take India to global leadership in minerals, metallurgical and materials science and engineering, and be the premier advocate for materials and manufacturing innovation.


Our Mission

Identify the key requirements of the metallurgical and materials segments and the professionals that can be served by IIM

Provide a platform for national and international collaborations

Provide opportunities for continuous education

Develop and share authoritative databases with industry, R&D and academia

Be a premier forum for aiding the development of policy issues for government, industry, R&D and academia

Forge stronger ties between IIM and metallurgical/materials sectors, academia, research, and professional organizations worldwide.

President Message

satish pai


Dear Members,
Greetings and warm regards to each one of you. It is my privilege and honour to be President of the Indian Institute of Metals (IIM) for the year 2023-24...

Apex Body

Mr. Satish Pai

Current Affiliation : Managing Director of Hindalco Industries

Office : +91 22 6662 6666/62610555/ +91 22-6691 70000
Fax :+91 22 6691 7001
Vice President & Chairman, Ferrous Division
Mr Sajjan Jindal

Current Affiliation : Chairman & Managing Director , Jindal South West Steel Ltd.

Office : 022 2351 3000
Fax :022 2352 6400
Vice President & Chairman, Metal Science Division
Prof. B S Murty

Current Affiliation : Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad

Office : 044-2257 4754
Fax :044-2257 4754
Vice President & Chairman, Non-Ferrous Division
Dr Komal Kapoor

Current Affiliation : Chairman & Chief Executive, Nuclear Fuel Complex

Office : +91 40 2712 3728
Fax :+91 40 2712 1271
Immediate Former President
Dr Samir V Kamat

Current Affiliation : Secretary, Department of Defence R&D and Chairman, DRDO

Office : 011-2301 3209/ 2301 5291
Fax :011-2379 3008
Hon. Treasurer

Current Affiliation : Managing Director, Metalist Consultants P Ltd

Office : 033-2358 7977
Secretary General
Brigadier Arun Ganguli (Retd)

Current Affiliation :

Office : 033-2367-9768

Past Leadership

More About Us